Happy Cinco De Mayo


Happy Cinco De Mayo dear readers! I love any holiday that serves as an excuse to have yummy drinks, an abundance of chips and salsa, and bright decor. Unfortunately, my drink of choice this year is hot tea, lemon, honey and some sugar. I’m feeling a bit under the weather after my traveling adventures, but I still want to share with you party people my favorite margarita recipe:

Margarita on the Rocks

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of tequila
  • 1 cup of Triple Sec
  • 3 cups of ice
  • freshly squeezed lime juice (about 5 or 6 limes)
  • freshly squeezed  lemon juice (1 lemon)
  • 1 lime (sliced 6 ways for decorating glass)
  • 1 lime (sliced in half for glass rim)
  • Kosher salt
Directions: Combine lime juice, lemon juice, triple sec, and ice in a blender. After thoroughly blended, add tequila and blend for approximately 5 more seconds.

 

Rub the outside rim of margarita glasses with lime half and then dip in a plate of kosher salt. Add ice and drink mix. Garnish with a slice of lime and enjoy!

 

* Mix should yield approximately 6 glasses.

 

I love margaritas, and I’m truly disappointed that my body is telling me I need R&R more than my annual Cinco De Mayo celebration. However, I can always live vicariously through you, right? What are your Cinco De Mayo plans? I would love to hear all about it.

4 thoughts on “Happy Cinco De Mayo

  1. Amber,

    I am so sorry to hear you are not feeling well . . . How are you feeling today? Any better than yesterday? Sending prayers of healing your way, my friend!

    When I drink alcoholic beverages, I am more a fruity-blended drink kind of gal (peach, mango, or strawberry margaritas are my # 1 go to). The more exotic the better, too; for instance, a lava flow, when made correctly, is one of my favorites. Other than that, the hubs and I routinely participate in “Beer Monday”. LOL. My husband created this weekly festivity as an excuse to have a beer during the weekdays. Usually during the week, we are confined to a somewhat rigid diet consisting of mainly proteins and vegetables. Oh, and Gatorade, LOL. All that said, Cinco de Mayo is not a holiday we have ever celebrated! I think we both come from homes where it wasn’t made much fuss about, and the philosophy stuck.

    Hope you are R&R’ing today! Get well soon!

    ~ Cara

    • Cara, Thanks for your kind words of concern and prayers. I finally bit the bullet and went to the doctor today. I’m hoping to be feeling better very soon :)

      I have never tried a lava flow but love the fruity blends as well. I will have to try it the next time I’m out and trust the bartender to be a quality drink mixer. And, I love that you participate in Beer Monday; I’m sure my husband would love this tradition as well. ha.

      Hope you are having a great Monday!

Comments?

