DIY- Heart Patch

So the first step in recovery is admitting you have a problem, right? Well, I have to admit that I have a problem with getting rid of old clothing. I push, pull, and fight with my over packed closet daily, but by golly, I’m not going to get rid of that dress I wore my senior year (of high school)!! Ok, so maybe I am exaggerating a bit, but in all honesty, I really hate throwing out my clothes. Maybe it’s because I have an awful memory but somehow clothing always takes me back to people and places, or maybe it’s because I would do anything to have some of my mom’s clothing from back in the 60’s and 70’s or maybe I’m simply just a pack rat. Whatever the reason, it’s an issue but I’m working on justifying the problem by finding ways to update some of those items from decades past. The top I’m wearing on the left is a perfect example. It’s a perfectly good top, but I haven’t worn it in years (probably because its boring!!!)

However after my nifty do-it-yourself update (on the right), the top has a new spark of fun and personality. I’m actually excited to wear it.

Here’s how:

  

Supplies: You will need your (boring) top/skirt/ dress, fabric, scissors (I used pinking shears), thick embroidering thread, needle, and sewing pins.

1. Fold fabric in half and cut a half heart (or square, star, oval, etc). I used pinking shears to cut the fabric because it cuts down on the fraying.

Side note: those pinking shears belonged to my Great Great Aunt. I come from a long line of crafty women. 

     

2. Use sewing pins to secure the design to your shirt. Get creative. You may want it in the center, a little off-center, or maybe on the side of your garment. However, the pins will ensure that the design stays in the location you intended.

3. Make a cross stitch along the edge of your design. Your stitch can be as big or as small as you desire depending on the look you are hoping to achieve.

    

4. Continue the cross stitch along the outside until you have secured the entire design to your garment.

(optional)  I created a bow that I added to the side of my design for an added sweet element. Buttons, appliques, ornate pins, or another smaller heart would also be cute additions.

Do you have any creative tips for repurposing, updating and/or rescuing those boring items in the back of your closet? If so, I am all ears. I would love to hear :) xo

3 thoughts on “DIY- Heart Patch

  1. Another similarity between you and I; I loathe tossing things out! Because you know the moment you do, the very next day is when that paisley ruffled peasant-skirt will come storming back into fashion. LOL. Unfortunately, I just don’t have the closet-space to keep everything. I usually spring clean every four weeks or so, mollifying myself with the fact that, should I desire something new and trendy, I am in a place of financial security which allows me to go out and buy it. I won’t lie, though, I have hung on to a few eclectic pieces from my late teens — just in case! :)

    This is too-too cute! The red embroidering around the edge puts this over the top — in a good way, of course. I love up cycling projects, especially when I am the one with say over design and color. You did an exceptional job with this shirt! Any girl would be thrilled to have this addition to her wardrobe.

    I learned a very long time ago, that where style is concerned, fit is imperative; especially if you don’t have a coat-rack of a figure. My measurements are ridiculously difficult to appease, which leads me to the decision of choosing fit over all other clothing attributes. This shirt fits you perfectly; and with your red locks and creamy complexion, tis a match made in apparel heaven. :)

  2. You have been nominated for the “Beatiful Blogger” & “7 x 7” Award byTrèsors De Luxe! http://tresorsdeluxe.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/the-beautiful-blogger-award-more/ If you so choose to accept these awards, please do the following:

    The rules of the Beautiful Blogger award are:
    1.Thank the one who nominated you by linking back (See above)
    2.Nominate five blogs (we went a little crazy & nominated a few more!)
    3.Let your nominees know by leaving a comment on their sites (Will do)
    4.Copy and paste the award image on your site. (See image to the left)

    The Rules — 7 x 7 Link Award
    1.Thank the person who gave you the award.
    2.Write a post about it.
    3.Answer 7 questions about yourself. (Favorite: Color, Animal, Number, Non~alcoholic drink, Facebook or Twitter, Your Passion, Giving or receiving gifts, Favorite pattern, day of the week, and last but not least, your favorite flower.
    4.Link to 7 of your own posts: Most Surprisingly Successful, Most Underrated, Most Popular, Most Beautiful, Most Helpful, Most Controversial and Most Pride-Worthy
    5.Pass the award along to 7 bloggers who you think deserve it

    Congratulations!!!
    XX ~ Trèsors De Luxe!

Comments?

