Mom’s the Word

That gorgeous lady in the picture above is my mom c.1985. I love this picture because it shows her fun-loving spirit, infectious smile, and love for the sun. My mom is definitely a unique and special woman. I spent much of my childhood wanting to be just like her and much of my adolescents trying to be the opposite (as most teens do!). Now in my twenties, I value my own sense of self but contribute a good part of that to my mom. Her unwavering love gave me the confidence to go on many of my life adventures, and her continual support gave me the ability to pick myself up after my falls. I am so blessed to have this amazing woman in my life.

Now that I’m living in Atlanta, I don’t get to see her quite as much. However, Mother’s Day was the perfect excuse for me to spend the weekend with her. We ate at some of my favorite spots, got mani/pedis, went thrifting, and had lots of quality bonding time. She was also kind enough to let me snap some pictures. Here are some of my faves.

While I’m on the subject, I also want to mention these fabulous women who have played such an influential role in making me me. I know I keep saying it, but I am so lucky to have so many amazing women in my life.

Top Left to right:
My Grandmother (Brenda) as a young girl
My Great-Grandmother (Lois) and my Grandmother (Brenda) a few months after I was born
My Grandmother (Bonnie) in her twenties
My Grandmother (Bonnie) my Aunt (Cathy) and my mom sometime in the early 80s.

Bottom Right: My Mother-in-law (Debbie) and Jon in 1984.
Bottom Left: My best friend’s Mom (Rhonda)

    

I will end this post with a quote that evoked a great deal of gratitude, love, and respect for all of the moms in my life.
“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials, heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine, desert us when troubles thicken around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” – Washington Irving
 I hope you had a happy and blessed Mother’s day!
6 thoughts on “Mom’s the Word

  1. She’s lovely, Amber, and I see so much of her in you. All the women you shared with us carry a radiance in them.

    So glad you and your mom had a wonderful weekend together.

    Happy Monday!

    ~ Cara

Comments?

