Recipe: Cream Cheese Pound Cake

I read an article once stating that your body chemistry changes every seven years. Now I’m not sure if this is accurate medical knowledge, but I completely buy it. When I was younger, I had a major sweet tooth and nothing seem to satisfy my cravings better than deep, rich chocolate. My uncle was the only other person who seemed to have a love for sweets that seemed to even slightly rival mine. I can remember racing him to the kitchen on Sundays after church just so I could get the piece of cake with the most icing! And let me tell you, when my dad made me his delightful “Hershey Cake” I was in heaven. Oh the memories.

Funny though, I lost my sweet tooth somewhere along the way. Now I want my milkshakes to be plain vanilla, I can take or leave chocolate and ultimately prefer spice or salt any day of the week. That’s probably what lead me to this cake. I was scouring the internet one fateful day in search of a not-so-rich  (and not-so-healthy) cake to go with some fresh berries. When I found a pound cake with cream cheese (I think i replaced my love for chocolate with cream cheese!!), I knew I hit the jackpot. I have made it twice since then, and both times it has been a big hit.

Here’s another rocking recipe to add to the books!


Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter
  • 1 (8 ounce) cream cheese
  • 3 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 degrees C) grease and flour a 10 inch tube pan.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add sugar gradually and beat until fluffy.
  3. Add eggs two at a time, beating well with each addition. Add the flour all at once and mix in. Add vanilla.
  4. Pour into a 10 inch tube pan. Bake at 325 degrees F (160 degrees C) for 1 hour and 20 minutes. Check for doneness at 1 hour. A toothpick inserted into center of cake will come out clean.
  5. Serve with fresh berries and vanilla bean ice cream (I added step five)

Recipe courtesy here

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  1. This metaphor thing is VERY interesting to me (no surprise)… I, for as long as I can remember, have been positively neurotic about warm foods – almost even dreaded Thanksgiving . Its almost like it can’t ever be warm enough. And my sweet tooth went down so much after I quit my last job, too. My cookie consumption is almost non-existent now… VERY interesting indeed!

  2. It might be an age thing. My younger staff at the kitchen love sugar and so do the kids that I often cater to but as you get a bit older it starts to wear off. That is a wonderful looking cake. I think I will make it this weekend. I will let you know how it works up here in the mountains at 8500 feet!

  3. yum. i love cream cheese too. lately i have been hooked on popcorn mixed with mini chocolate chips, but i think i am gonna try this. i love to bake. :)

Comments?

