Travel: All-American Bucket List

Today is officially mine and Jon’s anniversary, and I wanted to give the post today to Kim. Without her, I would have never met Jon (you can read the story here.) She was my roommate at the time, which is an ironic story in itself but that’s another story for another day.  But as I said in a previous post, we connected over broken relationships and great music. I will skip my praises of Kim’s fantastic musical taste since I already wrote about it here and go straight to the other thing I think of when I think of Kim- traveling. I have always admired Kim for her fearless passion for traveling and exploring. Her list of places traveled is enough to make you dizzy with envy, and many of those places were actually checked off during a 6 month excursion around the world following college. The craziest part- she did it all by herself! She definitely inspires my inner gypsy!

Naturally with her love of travel and adventure, I asked Kim to post about just that. So without further adieu, here’s Kim’s top 3 must-see places in America.

Kim:One year ago today, I had the honor of standing alongside Amber and Jon as they recited their vows. Punctuating promises of love and faithfulness were more unique words…she swore to watch Ravens football, he, to never leave her alone in a storm. They made a lot of promises to each other in that ceremony, not least of which was to remain an ever faithful travel companion.

Now, if you’re friends with either Amber or Jon on facebook, you know that their first year of marriage has granted an abundance of opportunities to test this particular vow. Nearly ever other weekend they are exploring a new city together, so when Amber asked me to do a guest blog post while they were away on their anniversary trip, it seemed only fitting that I focus on travel.
Recently my friends and I have been living the Summer of the Tennessee Bucket List. In honor of this pursuit and the upcoming 4th of July holiday, below I present to you excerpts from my All-American bucket list.

photo credit to Geoff McKnight

Now I must admit, I have been to Acadia National Park before BUT I’m the kind of person who falls in love with very specific aspects of a destination, and as soon as I stepped foot in Maine, I knew I couldn’t fit it all into one quick trip.

Cadillac Mountain happens to be the first place in the United States to view the sunrise during certain times of the year. I don’t think there could be a more beautiful way to start the day than by standing on the edge of a mountain and watching the sun rise over the Atlantic. Plus, once you’re ready to leave the peacefulness of the park, Bar Harbor is just a short drive away!

Want to be the first to see the sunrise? You just need to go between October 7th and March 6th!

#2. Lake Powell, Canyon Point, Utah

photo credit to Aman Resorts

Because what is a bucket list without at least one extravagant destination! The Amangiri Hotel’s outdoor suites bring a whole new meaning to the term “glamping.” Located in one of the best stargazing spots in the U.S., you can fall asleep under a blanket of stars while snuggling cozily under lush bedding and the knowledge that room service is still just a call away.

#3. Wine Region, Columbia River Gorge, Oregon

 Photo credit to Martin’s Gorge Tours

There’s something freeing about a drive through the Pacific Northwest — tall mountains, deep rivers, wildflowers and limitless possibilities. I love scenery and I love wine, so why not drink wine in scenic places?

Don’t drink and drive!

As Mark Twain famously wrote, “I have found out that there ain’t no surer way to find out whether you like people or hate them than to travel with them.” And, in my opinion, Twain rarely got it wrong.

Amber and Jon — I hope one of these destinations can help inspire your next adventure. I know you have many more to come! Happy Anniversary! -Kim

One thought on “Travel: All-American Bucket List

Comments?

