Music Monday: All-American Songs

Ashlee is my second oldest friend, with Sarah having her beat by roughly 6 months. I have an awful memory, but I do remember meeting Ashlee. It was in kindergarten, and she had just moved to Ocoee from Davie, Florida. She had the cutest bowl haircut, cowboy boots, and a bright red coat (Sarah called her Santa!) As time progressed, the three of us were pretty much inseparable. And while all three of us did spend a ton of time together, Ashlee and I always had a very special connection. I have always found so much comfort in our friendship because ultimately we are more alike than different but Ashlee also has always served as the ying to my yang.While she is incredibly down-to-earth and quite possibly one of the sweetest people you will ever meet, she also has a bit of a rebellious streak, a lot of spunk, and silly side. Ashlee has always brought that out in me, too. I feel so blessed to have her as my best friend along with enough inside jokes to last a lifetime.

Like me, Ashlee also has a love for music, so I asked her to share some of her favorite All-American songs for Music Monday!

Ashlee: My first song choice is Born Country by Alabama. This song embraces everything that America was founded on… God, family, good food, family values and love for your country. This song makes me think of my grandparent’s day when family’s gathered around the table for supper each night; everyone in the family worked from sun up to sun down; and Sunday’s were for church and resting only.

I love American Saturday Night by Brad Paisley. It’s an upbeat song that pretty much sums up America’s culture. We truly are the worlds “melting pot”.

The last song is the classic- God Bless the USA by Lee Greenwood. I can’t think of the 4th of July and not think of this staple song. We should all be proud that we live in this country. It may not be perfect but at least we are free to make our own decision. May we never forget the brave men and women who have fought and died to help us keep that freedom.

 
 What’s your favorite American Song?
One thought on “Music Monday: All-American Songs

Comments?

