Party Planning: Independence Day Celebrating

Today’s guest blog post is by one of the hottest mommas I know- my beautiful friend Lynsey. If you look at my wedding pictures, you will notice that she is the bridesmaid with the adorable baby bump. Despite being with child, she was still a blast at my bachelorette party, endured the heat of my wedding ceremony, and boogied with the best of us on the dance floor. She was a trooper during my wedding to say the least. It was an easy choice choosing Lynsey as a bridesmaid being that she was not only one of my dearest friends but also Jon’s. You see, Lynsey and I first met three and a half years ago when I first started dating Jon. She was the only girl in the group (due to being married to Vince- one of Jon’s BFFs) and was adored by all of the guys. Needless to say, I was a nervous wreck meeting her, but she welcomed me with such enthusiasm and love. From that moment forward, we have been dear friends.

There are many things I love about Lynsey, but one of the things that sets her apart the most is her fun-loving spirit and joy. There is nothing better than seeing Lynsey’s face light up when she is talking about something she loves: i.e. Kentucky sports, John Cena’s theme song, peachtree city, Vince or Avery (her beautiful baby girl), and America! Lynsey loves America more than anyone I have ever met. So when I asked her to put a post together about decor for the perfect 4th of July party, I knew she would be in 7th heaven.

Lynsey: In my book, no party would be complete without themed decor and yummy sweets. Here are 9 of my favorite patriotic items to get you inspired for your independence day celebrating! 

This DIY wreath from the Scrap Shoppe Blog would be great on the front door when you host your 4th of July party. Not only is it so welcoming but it automatically makes you feel patriotic.

To go along with your burlap wreath why not also have a burlap American flag banner.  The folks at Uncommon Design Online give you all the how to’s of making this eye-catching banner.

I really like the crafty hostess blog with all of her cute table displays.  I love this one because I think the flag should be the centerpiece of the table for any 4th of July party.  The hanging lanterns above the table make the display extra festive.

This display showcased on Giggles Galore is also pretty perfect.  It screams “Go America”!

Along with all that decor, how about some dessert? Cake pops seem to be popular these days.  Nothing is cuter than My Juice Cup‘s American flag cake pop display. They are delicious and easy for the guest to grab and enjoy.

And what a fun, refreshing drink from the Baby Center to keep you cool on America’s birthday! This one can be for the kids or spiked for the adults.

I love this idea from Better Homes and Gardens!  Find containers that are slightly larger than your plant containers to give your plants some American spirit.

Because I’m now a mom I couldn’t help but add this project from Serendipity.  I love any and all things with baby (especially mine) hand and foot prints.  I thought this was so cute!  It would be cute to bring out each 4th to compare how much the little one’s hands and feet have grown, and it would look great anywhere at your July 4th party.

Do you have any go-to decor you use annually at your 4th of July party, or are you planning to use something new this year?

2 thoughts on “Party Planning: Independence Day Celebrating

Comments?

