Travel Time: Our First Anniversary in Cancun

If you have stopped by the blog over the last week or so, you probably know that my hubby and I just celebrated our first anniversary in beautiful Cancun, Mexico. It was my first experience with an all-inclusive style resort, and I must say that I can understand why people rave so much about it. We ate lavishly, drank fruity cocktails till our hearts content, and were surrounded by friendly eager staff.

It was quite the experience; however, it wasn’t always the most comfortable. You see, I have an awful time just relaxing. Between working, volunteering, blogging, being social, and being a good “housekeeper,” I find myself with very little downtime. Needless to say, 5 days of none of the above left me a bit squirmy, but I somehow found a way to manage :) In fact by day 3, I had fallen in love with relaxing. My favorite spot on the resort was a cozy little cabana overlooking the infinity pool and beach. I cozied up there everyday and  pleasure read, which I haven’t done in forever! I was able to finish the book Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet and finally started reading The Shades of Grey trilogy (after much prompting from my friends). I have been very reluctant, but I must say that it is the perfect easy read for a romantic getaway!  In between sunbathing, reading, and eating, Jon and I also found ourselves snuggled up in our room finishing one of our favorite TV series, The Wire. I can’t say enough good things about this show, and while it’s not exactly romantic, it seemed fitting that it found its place in our relaxing, lovey-dovey weekend. I’m smiling just thinking about it!

Yes, it was a blissful couple of days, but now I’m having a hard time readjusting to the hustle and bustle of my “normal” life. Hopefully, I can hit the ground running tomorrow, but for today, I am relishing in my last few hours of rest and relaxation and still day dreaming of the beach.

Here are some of my favorite pics from our trip.

Do you have any favorite beach spots? Any annual summer trips? I’m thinking that we may make a beach trip an annual tradition for our anniversary and am already ready to plan our trip next year!!

P.S. You can see a few more fun shots from my daily accounting on Instagram!

20 thoughts on “Travel Time: Our First Anniversary in Cancun

  1. FINALLY! I have been checking Arbitrary Ambrosia every few hours waiting for a new post! You looked beautiful, as always, and I can’t wait to see more pics.

    • Dee- Thank you so much for your sweet comment. Yes, it was wonderful to have some quality time- just the two of us. Our goal is to travel our hearts out (time and budget allowing) so that we have it out of our system before baby Corbi arrives. We are hoping to start trying in two years. I think our travel will decrease significantly after that, but Im sure the joy of children make up for it! How old are you little ones? I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you to have some travels in your near future :)

      xoxo Amber

  2. Oh, we are so alike, you and I! It takes me a solid 3 days to settle into vacation mode, and then I am all goooood. Your vacation sounds positively dreamy. And that resort, oh my word . . . lavish is definitely the word that comes to mind. I hope you and your hubby had the most wonderful time celebrating a year of marriage. Judging by the pictures, I’d day you did just fine. ;-)

    Hoping you settle back into the swing of things easily.
    ~ Cara

    P.S. Love that penguin swimsuit. It’s smashing!

    • Oh Cara, it was absolutely fabulous. I’m not sure the pictures did it justice. I also have been meaning to tell you I had a Mango Margarita in your honor. It was my first ever, but I can tell you it will not be my last, ha. It was delicious. Hope you are having a happy Monday, dear. xo Amber

  3. This really looks so lovely, and a lovely way to celebrate a very happy occasion. Congratulations, and on learning to /remembering how to relax! Personally, I’ve been lobbying all day (literally) for a trip to Aruba. I’ve never been there, but I’ve seen enough pictures to put the bee in my bonnet!

  4. First, Happy Belated First Anniversary! Second, I totally understand having a hard time relaxing on a vacation. When I travel with the hubs, he always reminds me we’ll need at least one day of down time. (Which I then rearrange schedules to plan out our down time…. No joke!) For our honeymoon/One Year Anniversary trip (Delayed honeymoons are a norm for military couples) we went to a isolated beach resort that forced us to relax together. It was lovely! Finally, my favorite beaches are located around my hometown, the Pensacola/Destin area. It’s quite, cheap, charming, and domestic. I personal prefer Pensacola over Destin as it’s less touristy. P.S. Jealous of all your travels! : )

    • Gizelle, I’m so glad to hear that I’m not completely abnormal in my inability to relax. Your honeymoon/ anniversary trip sounds amazing. Growing up on the beach, I’m sure you are a bit picky on finding a good spot, so I will have to get the name of it from you! An isolated beach resorts sounds amazing… maybe for our 5 year! :) And, I can honestly say I have never been to Pensacola! Dustin tons of times, but never Pensacola. Next time… :) Thanks for reading. Means so much! xo, Amber

  5. Pingback: About Me! | arbitraryambrosia

Comments?

